Fallen Tree Farm
Fallen Tree Farm was originally a 30 acre property built by Robert Graham, a carpenter. It first appeared on the tax records in 1835 but the construction of the main house suggests it was built much earlier, in the late 1700’s. The house is truly unique, featuring some of the finest examples of historical architecture.
The original house had a two story stone structure which currently houses the formal living room and Graham Bedroom. The dining room and kitchen were also part of the structure but the second story over these two rooms was not. Robert Graham took on a sixteen year old apprentice, James Coyle, in 1840. In 1856, Graham disappeared off the tax lists and Coyle appeared as the owner of the farm. Coyle is to be credited for much of the home’s interesting additions and the expansion of the actual property itself. Coyle added an additional 70 acres to the property, built a second story above the dining room and kitchen and added the summer kitchen onto the main house. Along with that he “modernized” the stone portion of the home by putting a mansard roof and creating a third story, now the Coyle Bedroom, and a “witches cap.” The double stacked porches accompanied this construction, which has been described in historical journals as an “excellent example of 19th century remodeling.” Coyle also added the frame tenant house in 1886 for his daughter Jennie, which has since been subdivided from the current farm.
Coyle was well regarded as a fine builder who engineered and constructed barns and bridges up and down the Cumberland Valley. Quoting the Biographical Annals of Cumberland County, p 301 ” James Coyle owns a fine farm of 100 acres in South Middleton Township, which he has improved into one of the most valuable properties of this section…
“But where is the barn?”
According to historical journals there was a large log barn on the property just across the drive from the main house. The large two foot stone foundation of the barn is still there but where is the rest of it? Research has shown that a owner as late as the 1960’s sold the frame wood from the barn. What we are left with is a very beautiful foundation nestled in the woods. Fallen Tree has its own stables now situated a bit differently on the property, however, it is our hope that we might locate another bank barn similar to the original structure and reconstruct it on the property.
Nevertheless, she’s a grand old house just waiting for you to come and explore. Come see it for yourselves!